May. 5, 2017

Aloha United Way (AUW) announced its 2017 Spirit of Community Award winners, recognizing nearly 50 business, labor, government and nonprofit organizations that have demonstrated exceptional community support, accomplishments and dedication to Hawai‘i’s local communities during its annual giving campaign. 

“The ability of our community to come together and work collaboratively drives remarkable positive change among families and individuals statewide,” said Cindy Adams, president and CEO of Aloha United Way. “We are proud to honor nearly 50 organizations with well-deserved Spirit of Community Awards for their commitment and service to creating a better future for Hawaii.”
Organizations that participate in the annual giving campaign assist AUW in providing support to hundreds of thousands of local individuals and 342 nonprofit organizations. New to its last campaign, AUW expended its longstanding partnership with the Hawai‘i Lodging and Tourism Authority (HLTA) to bolster participation from hospitality and tourism businesses in Waikīkī, and engaged a group of young professionals to serve on the campaign committee in an effort to cultivate future philanthropic leaders.

Certificate Categories

Best New Campaign Award • Bloomingdale’s • HHL Holdings, Inc. • The MODERN Honolulu

Labor Organization Award • Hawaii State AFL-CIO • HGEA AFSCME Local 152, AFL-CIO • IBEW Local 1186 • ILWU Local 142 • Laborers’ International Union of North America Local 368 • University of Hawaii Professional Assembly • Union Retiree’s Mail Campaign: HGEA AFSCME Local 152, AFL-CIO; Hawaii State Teacher’s Association; IBEW Local 1186; University of Hawaii Professional Assembly

Learning Institution Award • Hawaii Department of Education • ‘Iolani School • Kapi‘olani Community College • Punahou School • University of Hawai‘i System

Non-Profit Organization Award • East-West Center • Helping Hands Hawai’i • Partners in Development Foundation

Public Sector Award • Honolulu Police Department • State of Hawaii and its Employees Continuous Giving Award • Hawai‘i Convention Center • HawkTree International • ProService Hawaii

100% Participation Award • Albert C. Kobayashi, Inc. • American Carpet One • Benefit Plan Solutions, Inc. • Colliers International • Kamaka Hawaii Community Champion Award • Bank of Hawaii • DTRIC Insurance • Enterprise Holdings: Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Alamo Rent A Car, National Car Rental • Hawaii Medical Service Association • Hawaiian Telcom • PAR Hawaii • Servco Pacific, Inc.

Video Categories

HO‘OLAU‘LE‘A AWARD • Small Business: HHL Holdings, Inc. • Medium Business: First Insurance Company of Hawaii, Ltd. • Large Business: Department of the Attorney General

LAULIMA AWARD • Small Business: CW & Associates, CPAs • Medium Business: Matson • Large Business: Central Pacific Bank

KULEANA AWARD • Aloha Island Lei ‘IKE LOA AWARD • Andrea Lum, American Savings Bank

LOKAHI AWARD • Small Business: University of Hawaii Federal Credit Union • Medium Business: Bowers + Kubota • Large Business: Aqua-Aston Hospitality

HO‘OKELA AWARD • Small Business: Alexander and Baldwin • Medium Business: UPS • Large Business: Hawaiian Electric Industries, Inc., Hawaiian Electric Co., Inc., HECO-Retirees, American Savings Bank